Product Review… Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

Now I’m quite aware that Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse has been on the market for some time, I used it myself before I joined Body Shop. It’s one of those products that could have been a fad and come and gone but its remained and holds it’s position very well now as the UK’s number 1 foundation. But why is this?

Here are my thoughts…

IMG_0799

Price

Firstly it’s affordable, your average 50ml pot will set you back a very reasonable £6.99. This is half most brands charge for their foundations. For this reason it’s appealing to those young and old alike.

Texture
The mousse texture is very aesthetic. It feels nice to apply and has a similarity to a dessert. Why you would want to put a pudding on your face I’m not sure but it definitely made me happy.

Application
Application is very easy. Whilst most foundation products are applied most effectively with a foundation brush, it really isn’t an option with Dream Matte Mousse. The only and best way to apply this product is with your fingers. Blending a small amount little by little, not forgetting your neck. It blends really easily and is so creamy it makes it easy, it would be very hard to create streaks with this make-up.

How it feels in your skin…
It has a very light texture, not at all heavy. Which would make it very attractive to even the biggest make-up novice.

Coverage
It covers very well. Sits over concealer well and it has a nice base look, almost with a powder finish.

Other benefits
I wouldn’t say you would need to use a pressed powder with this like you would many foundations so its saving you money once again!
It smells nice, soft not over powering.

Negatives… Well every product has them…

Staying power
It haven’t really found it to last as long as my usual foundations. Maybe 6 -8 hours rather than 12-16 hours. But then I guess you get what you pay for.

Quantity needed
You will probably find you go through this a little quicker than a liquid foundation. It’s purely because its made up of bubbles, and these bubbles are taking up valuable make-up space in the pot!!!

Dryness
I’ve found that it has dried my skin out more than usual, it seems to cling to the dry patches, so it doesn’t have any moisturise qualities, but then you can’t have it all!!

Overall I would give it a 4 out of 5, the positives massively out weigh the negatives!!!

2 thoughts on “Product Review… Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse

  1. I’ve wanted to try this for ages but I’ve never got around to it-I’ll have to give it a go!:) This is a really good review, I love that you’ve got it all sorted into positive/negative, makes it really easy to read! When I do a review I just ramble on and forget what I was meant to be talking about:)
    ~Loll x

  2. Pingback: Maybelline Fit me Concealer | Itslacour's Beauty Blog

Leave a Reply

